Categories

Should you require any help with any information about Oi, please contact Tel: 02 9364 0111 or info@oi.org.au.

Family Support  Events

MAY16

Better Start for Children with Disabilit...

09:30 AM - 02:30 PM at Penrith (Venue TBA), NSW

The Moving Forward workshop has been ...

Main Menu

Family Support Print this page

Family Support

Family members play a key role in supporting children, young people and adults with a disability throughout their lives. Parents, grandparents, siblings and relatives may be called upon to assist in caring for a member of their family or provide emotional support to those people who are main carers.

Even with the support of friends and family the role of a carer or support person for a person with a disability can add many challenges in addition to the day to day complexities of life.

For some families having access to organisations and agencies that are set up to provide information and advice is a welcome support.

For more information about organisations that can support families who have a child, young person or adult member with a disability, click on the links below.

Australian Government www.australia.gov.au/topics/benefits-payments-and-services-for-people-with-disabilities.

Health Direct www.healthdirect.gov.au

Commonwealth Respite and Carelink Centres www.commcarelink.health.gov.au

Carers Australia www.carersaustralia.com.au

Disability Carer Alliance www.disabilitycareralliance.org.au

Parentline www.parentline.com.au  call 1300 301 300

Raising Children Network www.raisingchildren.net.au

Family Advocacy www.family-advocacy.com

Resourcing Families www.resourcingfamilies.org.au

Siblings Australia www.siblingsaustralia.org.au(this website has a good national directory of services)