Categories

Should you require any help with any information about Oi, please contact Tel: 02 9364 0111 or info@oi.org.au.

Employment Print this page

Employment

Did you know that people with disability make up 10 per cent of the total Australian workforce?

Here are some more facts about disability employment in Australia;

Employment of People with Disability showed in 2009, 54.3% of people with a disability participated in the labour force compared to 83% of people without a disability.

Australia ranks 21 out of 29 OECD (Convention on the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) countries for labour force participation of people with disability.

People with disability have an employment rate of 39.8%, compared to 79.4% for people without a disability.

Two-thirds of people with disability earn less than $320 per week, compared with one-third of the general population.

15% of Australians of working age (15-64 years) have a disability

University graduates with disability take longer to gain full-time work than other graduates.

Employment Services for people with Disability;

If you are looking for employment, there are a number of organisations available to help people specifically with disability employment.

Advance Personnel Management - www.apm.net.au

Australian Apprenticeships - www.australianapprenticeships.gov.au/program/support-australian-apprentices-disability

Australian Government CRS Australia - www.crsaustralia.gov.au

Break Thru People Solutions - breakthru.org.au/index.php

Disability Employment Australia - disabilityemployment.org.au

Disability Employment Services - www.humanservices.gov.au/customer/services/centrelink/disability-employment-services

Endeavour Foundation - www.endeavour.com.au/Disability-services/Supported-employees

Horizon Foundation - www.horizoninc.org/news/news/horizon-foundation-supports-students-to-discover-careers-in-the-disability-sector

Nado - www.nado.org.au

Nova Employment - www.novaemployment.com.au

Spinal Cord Injuries Australia Employment - www.scia.org.au/employment

The Personnel Group - www.personnelgroup.com.au

Employment in the Disability Sector;

If you are looking for employment to work in the disability sector, these organisations can assist;

Care Careers – www.carecareers.com.au

Community Careers - www.communitycareers.com.au

Department of Human Services - www.dhs.vic.gov.au/about-the-department/our-organisation/careers/career-options/disability-services

Ethical Jobs - www.ethicaljobs.com.au/blog/huge-shake-up-as-nsw-disability-jobs-legislated-to-move-to-not-for-profit-providers

Job seeker - www.jobseeker.org.au/category/employment-sector/disabilities

Jobs NSW - www.jobs.nsw.gov.au/en/Working-for-NSW-govt/Disability.aspx

Seek - www.seek.com.au/jobs-in-community-services-development/aged-disability-support

Employment for mature people;

Mature Job Search Australia: www.maturejobsearch.com.au

Information and articles

About wages, rights and important employment links;

Employing People with a Disability Interview Tips - www.and.org.au/pages/tapping-into-talent-employing-people-with-disability.html

Employment Australian Government – www.employment.gov.au

Fair Work Australia - www.fairwork.gov.au/awards-and-agreements/awards

Fair Work Commission - www.fwc.gov.au/awards-and-agreements/minimum-wages-conditions/national-minimum-wage-orders

Human Rights - www.humanrights.gov.au/publications/national-inquiry-employment-and-disability-issues-paper-2

Human Services - www.humanservices.gov.au/business/services/centrelink/disabled-australian-apprentice-wage-support

Inclusion Australia – www.ncid.org.au/blog/2014/07/16/choosing-employment-key-to-economic-participation

Job Access - www.jobaccess.gov.au/Employers/Financial_help_and_wages/Help_with_wages/Supported_Wage_System

National Disability Insurance scheme (NDIS) - www.ndis.gov.au/people-working-disability-sector-or-who-are-interested-joining-disability-sector

National Disability Service - www.nds.org.au

Sydney Morning Herald - www.smh.com.au/small-business/resources/employing-people-with-disability-20140628-3azzi.html#ixzz378wG3uw3

 

Anti-Discrimination and Rights

Australia is a party to seven core international human rights treaties. The rights of people with disability are contained in the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD)

United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities - www.un.org/disabilities/convention/conventionfull.shtml

Australian Human Rights Commission - www.humanrights.gov.au/disability-rights-homepage

Disability Discrimination Act 1992 - www.comlaw.gov.au/Series/C2004A04426

Australian Attorney Generals Department – Has a number of fact sheets relating to disability rights. www.ag.gov.au/RightsAndProtections/HumanRights/PublicSectorGuidanceSheets/Pages/Rightsofpeoplewithdisability.aspx

Also check out Oi’s section on disability rights here - www.oi.org.au/en/component/content/category/231-disability-rights

Government Programs

The government has established two programs to help people overcome these barriers to employment.

Employment Assistance Fund (EAF)

EAF is a great program for employers, employees and individuals seeking employment. It is a program that can provide funding to improve workplace accessibility and provide software and hardware to allow employees with spinal cord injuries to comfortably complete their daily duties.

Examples of the modifications EAF can provide include:

             Computer software and upgrades

Modification to work vehicles if necessary for the job

Physical workplace adjustments to remove barriers to employment such as wheelchair    accessible toilets, access ramps, work station heights and more.

EAF is not limited to workplace modifications; they also consider workplace support and Auslan assistance. For more information on EAF and to find out if you’re eligible visit www.jobaccess.gov.au/content/employment-assistancefund

Job in Jeopardy

This program is only for employers and existing employees who feel that an employee is at risk of losing their job due to injury, illness or disability.

Job in Jeopardy usually involves:

An interview to assess the person’s capacity to carry out the required tasks and their ability to sustain normal hours of employment following an injury

            Workplace assessment

            Organising workplace equipment and modifications

            Determining suitable duties

            Monitoring progress

            Liaising with the person’s health professional

            Follow up for 26 weeks once the person is no longer at risk of losing their job

Programs may vary as each is tailored specifically to the individual. To find out if you are eligible please visit - www.crsaustralia.gov.au/job_in_jeopardy.htm

Other

If you require assistance and advice on employing people with disability call the national Job Access Advisor on Tel: 1800464800