Categories

Should you require any help with any information about Oi, please contact Tel: 02 9364 0111 or info@oi.org.au.

Activities Print this page

Activities

Join Your Local Activity

There are a number of accessible activities available specifically for people with disability, but many groups will adapt activities to suit you. Contact the activity organiser to determine:

  • What is access like
  • What is parking like
  • How can you get involved

General Activities

Dance Class for Children with Special Needs : https://www.facebook.com/emotion21inc

Dance and pilates for children in school years 5 to 8. Adult classes available on request. Visit www.djazzexdanceandpilates.com.

Drama Classes at ‘Once Upon a Time Theatre’

Drama classes for people identifying as having a physical or intellectual disability.  Opportunities to develop or extend your performance skills in a safe, fun and friendly atmosphere. Explore a range of skills including voice, movement, improvisation and theatre making, with performance opportunities. Classes are facilitated by experienced and qualified theatre professionals in Chatswood. Contact Kylie Harris, Creative Director, on 0435 940 029 or k.harris75@hotmail.com.

Camp Willing and Able, NSW Sport & Recreation, North Coast Region

This residential program enables children, teenagers and adults with a physical and/or intellectual disability to participate in various games and recreation activities, with an emphasis on making friends and having fun. Activities may include canoeing, sailing, archery, basketball, tennis, swimming, craft, indoor recreation, beach games, dance. Volunteer carers from previous camps, new community carers and students from Southern Cross University are rostered on with one carer for every two participants. Participants who need a personal carer must bring a carer to attend the camp with the participant.

Check dates with Sport and Recreation

Lake Ainsworth Sport and Recreation Centre, Pacific Parade, Lennox Head.

Cost: With / without Companion Card: adult $235 / $267, child $210 / $242. Cost includes all meals, accommodation, activities, coaching and support staff.

Contact: Heidi Duncan, Development Officer, Northern Region, Sport and Recreation, Communities NSW, on (02) 6618 0400 or email heidi.duncan@communities.nsw.gov.aufor an enrolment form. To enrol, T:02 6618 0400(with credit card details ready - Visa, Mastercard), by fax (with credit card details) to 02 6687 4175, or mail to NSW Sport and Recreation, PO Box 121, Lennox Head NSW 2478.

Victorian specific programs:

Access for All Abilities Program www.dpcd.vic.gov.au/sport/inclusive-sport/Access-For-All-Abilities
Arts Access – www.artsaccess.com.au
Australian Camps Association – www.auscamps.asn.au
Disability Sport and Recreation – www.dsr.org.au
Inclusive Leisure Victoria - www.aquaticsandrecreation.org.au/inclusiveleisureinitiative
Interchange Victoria - www.interchange.org.au
Neighbourhood Houses - www.anhlc.asn.au
NICAN - nican.com.au
People Outdoors - www.peopleoutdoors.org.au
Riding Develops Abilities www.rdav.asn.au 
Sailability Victoria www.s4e.org
Swimming Victoria www.swimmingvictoria.org.au
Victorian Electric Wheelchair Sports Association Inc www.vewsa.com.au

 

Gardening

http://www.gardeningknowhow.com/special/accessible/special-needs-gardening.htm

http://www.parenting-our-kids.com/sensory-gardens.html

Sports

AFL NSW www.aflnswact.com.au

Archery Australia www.archery.org.au

Archery NSW www.archerynsw.com

Arts Access T: 02 9699 8299 www.artsaccess.com.au

Athletes With a Disability Athletics NSW www.nswathletics.org.au

Athletics Australia www.athletics.com.au

Ausrapid increases the sporting and recreation opportunities for all people with an intellectual disability within Australia. www.ausrapid.org.au

Australian Athletes with a Disability Australian Athletes with a Disability is responsible for the administration of three national sports organisations including: Australian Sports Organisation for the Disabled (ASOD), Cerebral Palsy, Australian Sports and Recreation Federation (CPASRF), and Wheelchair Sports Australia (WSA). www.sports.org.au

Australian Blind Bowlers Association Inc - www.blindsportsaustralia.com.au/members/blindbowls.html

Australian Camps Association T: 9430 2900 www.auscamps.asn.au

Australian Canoeing www.canoe.org.au

Australian Curolling - nican.com.au/service/australian-curolling-part-canoast-productions

Australian Paralympic Committee (APC), help Australians with disabilities participate in sport and compete at the Paralympic Games through partnerships with governments, business, sporting bodies and the community. www.paralympic.org.au

Australian Sports Commission ausport.gov.au/participating/disability

Billiards & Snooker Association NSW www.bsansw.com

Blind Cricket NSW www.blindcricket.com

Blind Golf Australia www.blindgolf.com

Blind Sports Australia www.blindsportsaustralia.com.au/

Boccia Australia www.boccia.com.au

Boccia NSW www.bocciansw.org.au

Cricket Australia www.cricket.com.au

Cricket NSW www.cricketnsw.com.au

Cycling Australia www.cycling.org.au

d-Ability – Offer lots of links to sports – www.d-ability.org

Deaf Sports Australia www.deafsports.org.au

Deaf Tennis Australia www.deaftennisaustralia.org

Disability Sport and Recreation T:9473 0133 SportRec Access Line 1800 234 648 www.dsr.org.au

Disabled Sports Association Northern Territory disabledsportnt@bigpond.com

Disabled Surfers Association (DSA) of Australia Inc www.disabledsurfers.org

Disabled Winter Sport Australia www.disabledwintersport.com.au

Equestrian - NSW www.nsw.equestrian.org.au

Football Federation Australia www.footballaustralia.com.au

Football NSW www.footballnsw.com.au

Goalball Australia www.goalball.com.au/

Golf NSW www.golfnsw.org (Check with your local golf club on the facilities they offer)

Inclusive Leisure Victoria www.aquaticsandrecreation.org.au/inclusiveleisureinitiative

International Paralympic Committee - www.paralympic.org

International Wheelchair Rugby Federation www.iwrf.com

Life Stream Foundation a wide range of opportunities for people with an intellectual disability to enable them to participate in sport and recreation activities within the community. www.lifestream.org.au

Little Athletics NSW www.littleathletics.com.au

National Electric Wheelchair Sports Association nican.com.au/service/national-electric-wheelchair-sports-association

National Wheelchair Rugby League www.foxsportspulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-8380-0-0-0

New South Wales Fencing Association Inc www.nswfencing.org.au

New South Wales Vision Impaired and Blind Bowlers Association www.nswvibba.websyte.com.au

NICAN - Provides information about recreation, tourism, sport and the arts for people with a disability. T: 1800 806 769 www.nican.com.au

NSW Basketball Association www.nswbasketball.net.au

NSW Tenpin Bowling Association Inc. www.tenpin.org.au/index.php?id=906

NSW Weightlifting Association www.nswweightlifting.com.au

NSW Wheelchair Sports Association www.wsnsw.org.au

Para-cycling - Cycling New South Wales www.sportingwheelies.org.au

People Outdoors www.auscamps.asn.au

Playground Finder www.playgroundfinder.com

Pony Club Association of NSW www.pcansw.org.au

Powerflifting Australia www.powerliftingaustralia.com

Reclink Australia www.reclink.org

Riding Develops Abilities www.rdav.asn.au

Riding for the Disabled www.rda.org.au

Rugby www.fierce4rugby.com.au

Sailability Victoria www.s4e.org

Sailors with Disabilities www.sailorswithdisabilities.com

Softball NSW www.softball.net.au

Special Olympics Australia www.specialolympics.com.au

Special Olympics Victoria www.specialolympics.com.au/vic

Sport Ability - Australian Sports Commission www.ausport.gov.au/participating/disability/get_involved/sports_ability

Sporting Wheelies and Disabled Association QLD www.sportingwheelies.org.au

Swimming Victoria www.swimmingvictoria.org.au

Swimming for children with disability in NSW: http://littleheroesswimacademy.org/programs/disabilities-program/

Table Tennis Australia www.tabletennis.org.au

Target Shooting for the Disabled www.shooting4disabled.com

Tennis Australia www.tennis.com.au

Tennis NSW - Players with Disabilities www.tennis.com.au/nsw/

Tenpin Bowling Australia www.tenpin.org.au

Triathlon Australia www.triathlon.org.au

Victorian Electric Wheelchair Sports Association Inc www.vewsa.com.au

Volleyball Australia www.avf.org.au

DRSS (Formally -Wheelchair Sports Association South Australia) www.facebook.com/DRSSouthAustralia

Wheelchair Sports NSW www.wsnsw.org.au

Wheelchair Sports WA www.wheelchairsportswa.org.au

Play for Rules – Making sport inclusive, safe and fair www.playbytherules.net.au

The Inclusion Club inclusive sport and recreation for people with disability - theinclusionclub.com

Watersport

Sailability Australia's encourages and facilitate sailing and boating throughout Australia for people with disabilities in social, recreational and competitive activities. www.sailabilitynsw.org

Access-Able Travel Source www.access-able.com

Adaptive Rowing - Rowing Australia www.rowingaustralia.com.au

Disability Inclusion - Swimming Australia www.swimming.org.au

Disabled Surfers at Collaroy - Collaroy BeachE: dsasyd@disabledsurfers.org

International Sailing Federation www.sailing.org

People with Disability - Swimming NSW www.nswswimming.com.au

Rowing Australia www.rowingaustralia.com.au

Rowing NSW www.rowingnsw.asn.au

Sail Net www.sailnet.com

Sailing - Sailing options for people with disabilities www.footeprint.com/sailingweb

Sailors with Special Needs www.ussailing.org/education/adaptive-sailing

The Disabled Surfers Association of Australia Inc disabledsurfers.org/nsw/

Water Skiing NSW - AWWF Disabled Division www.disabledwaterski.com.au

These links will take you to other sites you may find of interest. If you have any other resources you think should be included on Oi – Email us at info@oi.org.au