Categories

Should you require any help with any information about Oi, please contact Tel: 02 9364 0111 or info@oi.org.au.

Transition To School Events

No events found

Main Menu

Transition To School Print this page

Transition To School

Transition to school from pre-school or day care is another emotional time for parents, carers and children. It can be hard for the child to understand the changes, say goodbye to friends and teachers or understand the emotions they feel.

For parents and carers the transition means changing locations, times shifts, schedule upheaval and means an emotional shift for them with meeting new teachers, and families.

Often at this time there are changes or advancements with your clinicians to develop the skills required for what is often deemed “Big School”.  But what ever the change there is support.

You are not alone and there is now a vast array for information, services and apps to help manage this process to make it easier on all involved and mostly for your child.

Links to Information & Tools:

Early Childhood Australia - www.earlychildhoodaustralia.org.au/

Playgroups Australia- www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/nsw/

Department of Social Services- www.dss.gov.au/

NSW Government - www.nsw.gov.au/

Department of Education– www.dec.nsw.gov.au/our-services/schools/disability-services

Education Victoria - www.education.vic.gov.au/childhood/parents/needs/pages/ecis.aspx

Education TAS - www.education.tas.gov.au/parents_carers/schools-colleges/Programs-Initiatives/Pages/Early-Childhood-Intervention-Services.aspx

Communities NSW – Early intervention - www.community.nsw.gov.au/docs_menu/for_agencies_that_work_with_us/early_intervention_services.html

ECIA – Early childhood intervention - www.eciavic.org.au/

Tranistion to School web resource: ECIA NSWs -  www.transitiontoschoolresource.org.au

Lifestarts Jenny Kemp - oi.org.au/index.php/en/resource/item/199-gryffinder-the-sorting-hat-and-transition-to-school-jenny-kemp

Raising Children - raisingchildren.net.au/articles/disability_early_intervention.html/context/1302

ADHC - www.adhc.nsw.gov.au/individuals/support/for_families_and_children/early_intervention_for_children

Links for Support:

Families NSW - www.families.nsw.gov.au/

Family Advocacy - www.family-advocacy.com

Carers – www.carersaustralia.com.au/

Parents Line - www.parentline.org.au/

Mission Australia - www.missionaustralia.com.au/what-we-do-to-help-new/children-and-families

Links for specific needs:

Autism Spectrum - www.autismspectrum.org.au/

Guide Dogs -www.guidedogs.com.au/

Catholic Care - www.catholiccare.org/

Other important links:

National Ethnic Disability Alliance - www.neda.org.au

Ideas - www.ideas.org.au

Response ability - www.responseability.org/

DSS – Autism -www.dss.gov.au/our-responsibilities/disability-and-carers/program-services/for-people-with-disability/helping-children-with-autism/providers?field_state_value=All&body_value=&items_per_page=100

Childhood intervention:

Lifestart – www.lifestart.org.au

Learning Links- www.learninglinks.org.au

BEEI- www.beei.com.au/

Aspire - aspireearlyintervention.com/

Pathways - www.pathwayseci.com/

CareWest - www.cw.org.au/site/index.cfm?display=246858

Moment Learning - www.momentumlearning.com.au/

Kalparrin - www.kalparrin.com.au/understanding-early-childhood-intervention/

Northcott - www.northcott.com.au/services/early-intervention