Categories

Should you require any help with any information about Oi, please contact Tel: 02 9364 0111 or info@oi.org.au.

Adult Education Print this page

Adult Education

Adult Education or continuing education is important for knowledge and learning but is also an enjoyable life activity people can enjoy. There are universities that run continuing education workshops and courses and community colleagues in Australia also run as well as independent organisations.

Some courses have prerequisites and others do not but nearly all suppliers have information on accessing services if you are a person with a disability. To ensure access to the course and parking should a disable space be required, to large scale adaptions like large screen fonts for visual ease or podcasting of courses or online access should a person be unable to attend in person.

There are also courses on disability for clinicians, carers, families and professions.

So whether you choose to learn for fun or want to learn for education or work skills there are options for everyone to access and even in some cases grant funding to learn.

Listed below are services to help learning needs as an adult.

National

Adult learning Australia - ala.asn.au

Australian Council for Adult Education - www.acal.edu.au

The Reading and Writing Hotline - www.literacyline.edu.au

Adult Literacy Resources - www.adultliteracyresource.edu.au

Community Colleges Australia - www.cca.edu.au

Australian Trade and Professional Listing - www.atpl.net.au

Australian Qualification Framework - www.aqf.edu.au

Flexible Learning Australia - www.flexiblelearning.net.au

Adult learning Week - adultlearnersweek.org

List of Australian Universities - www.australianuniversities.com.au/list

Disability Specific Websites:

Choosing Your Path - pubsites.uws.edu.au/ndco/disclosure

Australian Government - education.gov.au/disability-standards-education

Department of Education - www.dec.nsw.gov.au/our-services/schools/disability-services

Disability Council - www.disabilitycouncil.nsw.gov.au

Community Builders - www.communitybuilders.nsw.gov.au

Seniors

Your Life Your Choices: www.yourlifechoices.com.au/work/education-and-learning/adult-education-organisation

Universities of the Third Age - www.u3aonline.org.au

Multicultural Learning

Lerni - www.lerni.net.au

TILT - Tap Into Learning Today - www.tilt.edu.au

Online

Open Universities - www.open.edu.au/courses

NSW

Australian National University - www.anu.edu.au/cce

NSW Government Education and Communities - www.ace.nsw.gov.au

AMES (Online English courses) - ames.edu.au

Department of Education - www.dec.nsw.gov.au

NSW Adult Literacy and Numeracy Council - www.nswalnc.uts.edu.au/index.htm

Education NSW -www.education.gov.au

Employment NSW - www.employment.gov.au

TAFE NSW - www.tafensw.edu.au

Community Collages - www.cca.edu.au/cgi/communitycolleges.cgi?state=NSW

ACT

ACT Government: www.act.gov.au/browse/topics/education-and-training/adult-and-community-education

Association of Providers and Trainers: www.apts.org.au

CIT Short Course Solutions: shortcourses.cit.edu.au

VIC

Adult and Community Education Victoria - acevic.org.au

Campaspe College of Adult Education - www.ccae.vic.edu.au

Department of Education VIC - www.education.vic.gov.au/about/department/structure/Pages/acfe.aspx and skills gateway www.education.vic.gov.au/victorianskillsgateway/Pages/home.aspx

AMES VIC - www.ames.net.au

Association of Neighbourhood Houses and Centres - www.anhlc.asn.au

CAE Short Courses and Job Skilling - www.cae.edu.au/web

Community Colleges VIC - www.cca.edu.au/cgi/communitycolleges.cgi

Learn Local - learnlocal.org.au

Short Courses at Monash  Centre- www.shortcourses.monash.edu.au

Wyn Learn - www.wynlearn.net.au/news.cgi

QLD

Queensland Government - training.qld.gov.au/information/ace/ & training.qld.gov.au/information/investing-in-skills/index.html

List of Providers - training.qld.gov.au/information/ace/provider-list/index.html

Community Education - www.communify.org.au/service-directory/community-education

Lifelong Learning - www.llcq.org

Queensland Council for Adult Literacy - www.qcal.org.au

SA

WEA- www.wea-sa.com.au

Skills for All - www.skills.sa.gov.au/for-training-providers/adult-community-education-providers

SA Govermnet - www.dfeest.sa.gov.au/about-us/our-department/initiatives-programs/adult-community-education

List of Providers - www.skills.sa.gov.au/training-learning/adult-community-education

Community Centres SA - www.communitycentressa.asn.au

TAFE SA - www.tafesa.edu.au/courses/short-courses.aspx

WA

WA Government - www.wa.gov.au/information-about/education-training

Department of Education Services - www.des.wa.gov.au/schooleducation/Communitybasedcourses/Pages/default.aspx

Training WA- www.dtwd.wa.gov.au/employeesandstudents/training/choosingtrainingcourse/choosingtherighttrainingcourse/communitylearning/Pages/default.aspx

Link West - www.linkwest.asn.au

University of WA - www.extension.uwa.edu.au

NT

NT Government - www.dob.nt.gov.au/training/programs-funding/adult-learners-week/Pages/default.aspx

NT Adult Literacy and Numeracy - www.cdu.edu.au/centres/ntalnbp/people_think.htm

TAS

Adult Education TAS - adulteducation.linc.tas.gov.au

Learners Week TAS - adultlearnersweek.org/showevents.html?category=Tasmania

Learn Discover Access TAS - www.linc.tas.gov.au/learn/gethelp/gethelp

Skills TAS - www.skills.tas.gov.au/learners