Categories

Should you require any help with any information about Oi, please contact Tel: 02 9364 0111 or info@oi.org.au.

Sensory Print this page

Sensory

What are sensory disabilities?

Sensory disabilities affect how people interact with the world around them using their senses of sight, hearing, touch, taste, smell and speech. 

These disorders affect how the brain processes or interprets information from the senses and incorporates those who have low vision, poor hearing, inabiliity to smell or taste and disorders associated with processing touch.

All these disabilities can have a significant impact on how a person is able to live their life.

Links and Resources

Vision Impairment

Blind Citizens Australia www.bca.org.au

Guide Dog Association of NSW and ACT www.guidedogs.com.au

Royal Blind Society www.rbs.org.au

Royal Institute for Deaf and Blind Children - www.ridbc.org.au

Royal National Institute for the Blind www.rnib.org.uk

Royal Victorian Institute for the Blind www.rvib.org.au

South Australian Royal Society for the Blind www.rsb.org.au

Vision Australia - www.visionaustralia.org

Hearing Impairment

Australian Deaf, Hearing Impaired & Friends Online - www.adhfonline.com

Australian Sign Language Interpreters Association - www.aslia.com.au

Australian Theatre of the Deaf - www.artsaccess.com.au/atod/

Deaf Australia - www.deafau.org.au

Deaf Australia (formerly Australian Association of the Deaf) - www.deafau.org.au

Deaf Children Australia -www.deafchildrenaustralia.org.au

Deaf Society of NSW - www.deafsocietynsw.org.au

Deafness Forum - www.deafnessforum.org.au

Deafness Foundation - www.deafness.org.au

National Aslant Booking and Payment Service www.nabs.org.au

National Relay Service - www.relayservice.com.au

Royal Institute for Deaf and Blind Children - www.ridbc.org.au

Vic Deaf - www.vicdeaf.com.au

Smell/Anosmia

Better Health Channel - www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/Anosmia_loss_of_smell?open

Anosmia Foundation - www.anosmiafoundation.com/disability.shtml

Touch

Information and safety - www.accessingsafety.org/index.php/main/main_menu/understanding_disability/understanding_functional_abilities/functional_ability_sensory_functions/touch

Synesthesia

A person with synesthesia feels like their senses are mixed together, such as smells making them see colors, a sound giving them an unusual taste and similar unusual associations. While not a debilitating disorder if properly managed, there are good resources available for understanding and coping with this condition - www.synesthesia.com.au/

General Links

South Australian Government - www.sa.gov.au/topics/community-support/disability

Information and safety - www.accessingsafety.org/index.php/main/main_menu/understanding_disability/understanding_functional_abilities/functional_ability_sensory_functions